'The Best N Top.com' content is reader-supported. "As an Amazon Associate, When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission." Learn more.

About Me

About Me
The main mission of 'Answers Rates.com' is to empower all people on the planet to learn to do anything. We want to help people learn, first and foremost about Best Product Reviews, and Buying Advice. We review the best tech, appliances, gear, and more and other values guide how we pursue that mission. we also talk about the Difference Between Similar Terms and Objects.

Difference Between European Union and European Commission

Difference Between European Union and European Commission

On this page...

European Union and European Commission 

Comparing the European Commission (EC) to the European Union (EU) is like telling how the office of the president or executive branch differs from the broader presidential/democratic form of government.

This is because the European Community is part of a larger European Union. Read on to learn more about these two entities: Difference Between European Union and European Commission

The European Union or the European Union, previously seen as the European Community, is a very powerful entity that helps its entire membership become economically adequate.

It was created after World War II to prevent another war between any of its members. It also strengthens the economic health of Europe as a whole, not just its member states.

Similar to the way the United Nations is organized, to ensure a peaceful and more harmonious world, the European Commission (CoE) and the European Union (EU) are two distinct institutions created for the prosperity of Europe and its member states.

Both have their own set of goals and objectives. Each has its own subdivision, either specializing in various economic circumstances or adhering to certain democratic ideals to ensure the greatest respect for human rights.

The European Union was formally formed under its current name on November 1, 1993, unifying the 27 countries that make up the European continent.

The entity has a set of rules and regulations that all members must abide by. Most of these rules are related to economic policy and political standards.

In order to implement its policies more effectively, the EU has been further subdivided into several branches that are either government-controlled or independent.

The EU actually has 27 member states. With its existence, economic policy on the continent became more integrated, transforming Europe into what it is today.

Because it has so many functions and responsibilities, its role is assigned to a small agency of which the European Commission is one.

The European Commission, also known simply as the Commission, acts as the executive branch that can propose legislation that benefits the entire continent.

It is also responsible for the day-to-day operations of the league. It has 27 members, collectively known as the Academy.

They are officially elected from each state. Approving the entry of these officials is the job of the European Parliament, another branch of the European Union.

Each of them has a trusted portfolio and acts separately from each state's government.

The committee plays an administrative role and can defend and endorse treaties. One of the most basic functions of the entity is to draft proposals that may help make the legislative process smoother and more efficient.

It is also able to decide whether all members are properly complying with the legislation. Jose Manuel Barroso is the current chairman of the committee.

The European Commission and the European Parliament are two of the most popular institutions in the EU. Overall, the EU has a population of around 500 million people and is growing.

Within member states, certain favorable laws are maintained, such as the need for a passport and the free movement of goods and services across the rest of the EU.

Established in 1949, the European Commission is a distinct organization consisting of 47 European Member States. The entity has a more specific role in the observance of human rights and democracy.

Its two main bodies: the European Convention and the European Court of Human Rights (based in Strasbourg) help advance the goals of the Council.

The Council of Europe, therefore, underlines the importance of raising awareness of the individual human rights of its 800 million citizens.

The only countries not included in the committee are Vatican City, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Transnistria, and Kosovo. The last two states have limited recognition.

In summary, the difference between the EU and the EC is:

  1. The European Union is a larger international political entity than the European Commission, which is just one of its many branches.
  2. As the executive branch of the European Union, the European Commission has executive functions and the right to propose legislation.
  3. The Council of Europe is more of a cultural institution, mainly concerned with developing and spreading awareness of human rights to its members.
  4. The EU is more like a political entity, acting as a unified country in the larger world market. It is more inclined to implement economic policies.
  5. The European Commission consists of 47 member states, while the European Union consists of 27 member states.
  6. The Council of Europe requires its members to maintain a good democratic and human rights status.
  7. The EU requires its members to maintain exemplary economic performance, which will help elevate the overall union rather than drag it down.
  8. Among other responsibilities, the committee is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the alliance.
Image Description